It’s Her

If you ever end up wandering about Brindleton Bay coastside, you’ll eventually come upon a peculiar house. Standing on some trees and sturdy pillars it overlooks Cavalier Cove. Old and windbeaten as it is, it does not seem devoid of life. But you’d never see her going about in daylight.

Well, not often except for when she’s hunting for frogs. That’s right, frogs. Not sure what has gotten into her lately. Why would she need frogs of all things?

“Does it concern y’all, really? Just let me take care of my business as I let you do yours.” Right right, let me get back on track. So… Jesse Spellmayer is her name. You could’ve guessed it already, but she’s a spellcaster. A being that channels magic in whichever ways they desire.

Our Jesse here is an interesting case. Even though she could just learn spellcraft and sorcery, she’s more intrigued by the ways of natural magic. Alchemy is her passion. Lucky for her as she does not really crave for company. You could say she actively avoids it.

But even the most lonesome of souls need to leave their safe haven at times. You see, Jesse is still a student. She has to visit the Magic Realm often to resupply alchemy ingredients and learn more from her mentor, the Sage of Practical Magic. You can tell she’s not very happy about it…

That being said, Jesse is learning some spells, even if merely for household maintenance. Most of her time is spent studying and foraging for ingredients (such as those damn frogs).

Jesse does not let herself off the hook easily. Hardworking as she is, accidents tend to happen even then… “Shut up! Are you talking about the time I almost died of charge overload? Good for you, you ain’t a spellcaster.” Okay then. Moving on…

“…so now you suddenly got nothing to say? Leaving out all the good parts? I did win a duel one time. And got a lovely mop for it. I mean broom. Do not look at me like that. A broom is essential for a spellcaster.” (Who doesn’t know how to transportalate yet. And she’s specializing in practical magic…)

“Shut your mouth and listen. I don’t need some overly creative creep following me around, writing down everything I do. I’ve got plenty on my plate already. Just get a life, will you? Or I’ll shove that monitor somewhere the sun never shines.”

Oh, I’m so very sorry. You’re making this too difficult for me. Fine, we’re ending here tonight. But I cannot leave you alone, ever. See, I’ve got a story to write, and it just so happens to be yours.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑