Lorelei And The Great Lonely God

It is a bright, hot summer in Granite Falls. Lorelei and Mom have just arrived at their log cabin. Mom hugs the little girl tightly. Oh, how much Lorelei has wanted to come here! And they’re finally here! She can’t wait to explore the forests with Mom! Mom smiles at her excitement.

“Mama has to go to take care of a couple things. Will you be a good girl and wait for Mama here?” Lorelei nods although she wants to go right now.

Lorelei waits patiently while Mom is gone. Through the thick walls, she hears the birds’ song and humming of leaves in wind. She winces. Adventure is calling her. Lorelei tries hard not to listen, Mom wants her to wait. Finally she gives in.

Lorelei opens the door and steps out. She is a big girl! She can take care of herself. She will not go very far so she can be back when Mom comes.

Lorelei ventures up the hill following a colorful butterfly. She comes upon a small river running through the forest. Splish, splash, goes the water against rocks. Lorelei laughs. She quite likes the river’s song! Too bad she can’t understand a word.

Suddenly the water gurgles. A strange man emerges from the water. He shudders; his wet clothes hang tightly against his skin. A pair of large bare feet carry him to the waterfront.

Lorelei looks curiously as the man squeezes water out of his clothes. The man is beautiful. He has eyes as blue as the bright summer sky. His skin glistens in sunlight. He looks like a prince out of a fairytale. Lorelei is mesmerized.

She toddles closer to the man. “Hi mister, why were you in the river? Are you cold?”

The man looks around, confused. Finally his sharp gaze lands on Lorelei who looks at him with big unclouded eyes. He frowns. “Can… can she see me? This is unusual… I wonder who she is”, he mutters. He turns to Lorelei. “My name is Llyr and I am the Great God of water! This river is my abode.”

“Ooooh, Mister Water God! What does ‘god’ mean? Is it like a prince?”

Llyr the God laughs. There’s something about this little girls that makes him want to talk to her; he usually avoids humans at all costs. They’re loud and rowdy. And they soil his river home! Llyr kneels and tells his lonely story to Lorelei.

“I was born to guard this river. One day I just woke up in my body in the water. I have been looking after this forest for many years. At first I was friends with humans and played with them. But they started to litter the forest. They even soiled the river that is so dear to me. By time humans forgot about me; they can’t see me anymore. I have been so lonely, Lorelei.”

Lorelei tears up. She’s angry at the mean people who made her fairy prince lonely! Lorelei hugs Llyr tight. “Don’t worry, Mister Water God. You don’t have to be lonely anymore. I can be your friend!”

Llyr looks surprised. He would never have imagined he would have a friend again! Llyr grabs Lorelei by her sides and swings her in the air. Lorelei laughs. “Mister Water God! You’re so silly!”

Lorelei and Llyr run around the forest, playing tag and giggling. Lorelei’s laughter is very contagious. When Llyr smiles awkwardly, Lorelei giggles some more. The Water God looks very handsome when he smiles again.

While they play, Lorelei tells Llyr everything about human world. Llyr tells Lorelei about his fishy friends.

Time goes by quickly. Lorelei has totally forgotetn about her promise to Mom until she hears her calling her name. Lorelei pouts. “I’m so sorry, Mister Water God. I made a promise with Mom. I have to go now.”

Llyr smiles sadly. He had a fun time with the little human girl. “Will we see each other again?”

“Don’t you worry, Mister Water God! You’re not alone anymore! I will marry you when I grow up! It’s a promise!” Lorelei offers her hand. Llyr takes it. He shakes his head; kids are so honest.

After saying goodbye to Llyr, Lorelei runs to Mom. Mom has been waiting for her near the cabin. When Lorelei reaches her, she picks her up and swings her in the air. “Where did you go, my little Lorelei? I was looking for you!”

“Mom, Mom! I met a fairy prince! And I played with him! He’s very pretty!”

“Sure, Lorelei dear! But we need to have a talk. You cannot run away like that! Mama was very worried!”

From a distance, Llyr looks at the two humans playing. He smiles. Lorelei’s promise gives him hope. One day, he won’t have to be lonely ever again.

2 thoughts on “Lorelei And The Great Lonely God

Add yours

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑